The Alexander Hamilton Institute for the Study of Western Civilization (AHI) would like to congratulate Josiah Bunting III, charter member of the AHI’s Board of Directors, on his recent election to the chairmanship of the English-Speaking Union of the United States. Mr. Bunting is currently chairman of the Intercollegiate Studies Institute’s National Civic Literacy Board; president of the Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation; and president of the Lehrman American Studies Center.

Josiah Bunting was graduated from the Virginia Military Institute in 1963. He studied at the University of Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar. He served in the U.S. Army in the 82nd Airborne Division, in Vietnam and at the Military Academy at West Point, where he taught British history. His teaching posts and professorships also include the Naval War College, Princeton University, and VMI. His administrative experience in higher education includes: President, Briarcliff College (1973-1977); President, Hampden-Sydney College (1977-1987); and Superintendent, VMI (1995-2003). He served as a member of the National Endowment for the Humanities, from 2004-2009. Mr. Bunting has published several novels, including The Lionheads (G. Braziller, 1972), a best-seller that was selected by Time Magazine as one of “The Ten Best Novels” of 1973. More recently, he has completed several works of non-fiction An Education for Our Time (Regnery 1998) and a biography Ulysses S. Grant (Times Book, 2004).

The English-Speaking Union of the United States is a non-profit, non-political educational organization that celebrates English as a shared language to foster global understanding and good will by providing educational and cultural opportunities for students, educators, and some 6,000 members nationwide. Past Chairmen of the organization have included President of the United States Dwight D. Eisenhower; Secretary of State Edward R. Stettinius, Jr.; Attorney General George W. Wickersham; Supreme Allied Commander in Europe General Alfred M. Gruenther; Security and Exchange Commission Chairman J. Sinclair Armstrong; former President of Yale and Ambassador to the Court of St. James’s Kingman Brewster; as well as six other ambassadors to the UK, one to Canada and one to Turkey.