The Alexander Hamilton Institute for the Study of Western Civilization (AHI) and the Rochester Institute of Technology’s Center for Statesmanship, Law, and Liberty (the Center), are pleased to announce that Bruce Frohnen, Professor of Law at Ohio Northern University will deliver the Seventh Annual David Aldrich Nelson Lecture in Constitutional Jurisprudence on Wednesday, September 17 at 7:00 p.m. at RIT, Building 8, College of Science, Room 1250. Dr. Frohnen is an authority on religion in American public life, and will speak on “The Constitution and Religious Liberty.” The event is open to the public.

Immediately following the lecture, there will be a panel discussion on the two most recent Supreme Court cases involving religious liberty, Burwell v. Hobby Lobby, 2014 and the local case of Town of Greece v. Galloway, 2014 which will be led by Professors Joseph R. Fornieri, Director of the Center and Professor Lauren Hall.

Dr. Bruce Frohnen has served as a Visiting Scholar with the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, a Legislative Aide to United States Senator Spencer Abraham, and a Senior Fellow at Liberty Fund, Inc. His co-edited volume American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia was the subject of a front page article in The New York Times. His two most recent volumes, The American Nation: Primary Sources and Rethinking Rights (edited with Kenneth Grasso) were named Outstanding Academic Titles by Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries. His articles have appeared in journals including the George Washington Law Review, Harvard Journal of Law & Public Policy, and the American Journal of Jurisprudence. His research interests focus on the nature, development, and prospects for constitutionalism and human rights given changing views regarding the nature of human community and the person. He holds a J.D. from the Emory University School of Law and a Ph.D. in Government from Cornell University.

The Lecture honors Judge David Aldrich Nelson (1932-2010), a charter member of the AHI’s board of directors who served for more than two decades on the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.